Ensemble Hexameron

Two concerts by docARTES students at Miry Concertzaal (Ghent)

News March 5, 2019

Luca Montebugnoli and Nadav Katan

Luca Montebugnoli and Nadav Katan both started the docARTES programme in 2018. Aside from being artistic researchers, they are in the first place pianists. On March 15th and 17th you can see them performing at Miry Concertzaal in Ghent.

Ensemble Hexameron

Ensemble Hexaméron

15 March

Concert by Ensemble Hexaméron with fortepianist Luca Montebugnoli. Luca is a doctoral researcher (docARTES programme) at the Orpheus Institute in the cluster 'Declassifying the Classics'. Read more about his research project 'Rewriting for the salon'.

Ensemble Hexaméron wants to evoke the atmosphere and the music that was heard in a Viennese salon of the late 1820s, the place of choice for the practice of music all through the nineteenth century. Far from the model of the modern concert, these intimate performances presented a rich mixture of works taken both from the original repertoire of chamber music and the large production of arrangements and transcriptions, that made it possible to hear music which was intended for public concerts or theatres. Built around the arrangement of Beethoven’s fourth Symphony by Johann Nepomuk Hummel, the program of the concert will present works by other contemporary musicians, students or friends of Beethoven at the time, like Carl Czerny, Ferdinand Ries and Antonio Diabelli.

Van Beethoven / Hummel
– Symphonie nr. 4 in Bes majeur op. 60 (1806)   
Sedlatzek / Diabelli
– Souvenir à Pasta et Rubini nr. 6.   
 Carl Czerny
– Fantasia concertante op. 256   
Ferdinand Ries 
– Trio in C mineur, op. 143 (1826) 

Luca Montebugnoli fortepiano

Nicolas Bouils  fluit

Roldán Bernabé viool

Amaryllis Jarczyk cello

Nadav Katan

Nadav Katan

17 March - Cancelled due to personal reasons

[The concert will be postponed. A new date will be communicated as soon as possible.]

Nadav Katan - Ode aan de arrangeur

Nadav is docARTES doctoral student who started in 2018. Read more about his research project 'Informed Phrasing'.

The art of 'arranging' embraces far more than simply reworking music written for one instrument for a different one. It sooner involves recomposing musical material by subjecting it to new perspectives. This results in new works, with their own personal, stylistic and instrumental idiosyncrasies. The young Israeli pianist, Nadav Katan, as a researcher with the Orpheus Institute in Ghent, presents us with an ode to the arranger. His recital programme explores the broad spectrum between the original and the arrangement, with a meticulous quest for authenticity on the parts of Franck/Bauer, up to complete stylistic freedom with Bach/Busoni. Jean-Philippe Rameau opens the musical debates with a suite for harpsichord.

– 'Pièces de Clavecin': Suite in A mineur (1728) (twee delen)   
Bach / Busoni
– Chaconne in D mineur voor solo viool, arrangement voor piano (1892)   
Mendelssohn / Liszt
– Auf Flügeln des Gesanges' (1840)   
Schubert / Liszt
– 'Gretchen am Spinnrade' (1838)   
Schumann / Liszt
– Widmung' (1848)   
Franck / Bauer
– 'Prelude, Fugue & Variation' (originele versie voororgel)   
Stravinski / Agosti
– 'The Firebird Suite' (1928)   

Nadav Katan